Christ focused

Look forward, finally, and hope for the coming of the Lord. Your best things are yet to come. The second coming of Christ will soon be here. The time of temptation will soon be past and gone. The judgment and reward of the saints shall soon make amends for everything. Rest in the hope of that day. Work, watch, and look forward–one thing, at any rate, that day will make abundantly clear. It will show that there was never an hour in our lives in which we had our hearts too thoroughly focused on Christ.” J C Ryle

These last few words struck me, “there was never an hour in our lives in which we had our hearts too thoroughly focused on Christ.  

We can never be too focused on Christ!

How much time in my daily life is focused on Christ and how much is spent in other ways? As part of my assessment for chronic fatigue I had to do a time chart on my activities for a week from 7am- 11pm every hour recorded. I wonder how my weeks chart would look for the time spent on being Christ focused? Although I must admit since being ill I have had the luxury of time to spend in the word without clock watching. Heaven! 🙂 Am I making best use of the time I have? Time invested in the word and prayer ultimately will draw us closer and make us stronger.

As time draws near the apostle Paul’s words encourage me to press on, not give up and fix our eyes on the prize – be Christ focused. 

I will press on towards the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenwards in Christ Jesus.” Phil 3:14  

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” Matt 6:33

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” Gal 6:9

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christ focused

  1. Excellent post! And that last line in the Ryles quoate is indeed a stunner. I, for one, know my score is low, but I also claim Philippians 3:13 as my verse, followed closely by verse 14. I am straining toward the goal. Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

  2. jpdaily says:

    Absolutely, v13 “forgetting what’s behind and straining toward what’s ahead.” Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

