The battle of gratitude!

I haven’t been on here for a while for various reasons but today I came across something worth sharing.
Do you ever feel discouraged by things in your life that just don’t seem to be getting any better? No matter how much you have hoped it would? Well that’s how I woke up today, some days seem to be more of  a battle. The flesh says “I’m tired of this”, then self-pity and lethargy kicks in. Then I read Dr Stanley’s post (below) and it shows me a way out of this. This is a battle of the flesh v spirit. I’m not to fight this  alone but with the word of the Lord and a grateful heart. Not easy when you don’t feel like it but once over the first hurdle (flesh) the cloud lifts and then you feel so much better.

Life’s Storms by John MacAurthur

Perhaps the most difficult time to be thankful is when we’re in the midst of a setback, a challenge, or a trial. When the storm comes, giving thanks is rarely our first reaction. Being thankful for adversity is never easy, but it is always right. From experience I know the difficult times are the ones in which God seems to be most at work in our lives, strengthening our weak spots, comforting our hurts, and drawing us to greater dependence. A well-known businessman offered this perspective: “Good timber does not grow with ease; the stronger the wind, the stronger the trees.” Let’s not neglect to thank God for the strong winds He allows to blow our direction.
 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Eph 6:12
 “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble”. Matt 6:34
The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. My heart leaps for joy and I will give thanks to him in song.  Ps28:7
So, henceforth  into battle I go with the secret weapon of gratitude! BAM!
Gratitude as Warfare by Dr Charles Stanley
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

