A beautiful grey day

When I woke up yesterday I knew it would be a long and drawn out day just by how I felt. Through my chronic illness I have learnt to appreciate the beautiful moments all the more. It makes you see differently. It brings you closer to God because you are dependant upon Him. God wants us to lean on Him, to cast all our cares on Him for he cares for us!

A simple example of this was during my walk I decided to take. It wasn’t long before I left my busy road and entered a calmer world with woods and winding roads and large open fields. As I strolled down the road suddenly in front of me and from nowhere flew up hundreds of the tiniest birds I have ever seen (Warbler/Chaffinch). As I approached they flew across me from the hedge onto a wall and then up into the tree. It was the most beautiful scene. I stood and watched them; how small and beautiful they were until finally they flew away. Here on this dull grey day nature had put on a display just for me! It brought cheer into my heart. God surely is in the detail and I am fortunate to have the time to stop and see it. Even on the dullest of days there is beauty. As I walked back home the rain moved in but it didn’t dampen the pleasure of being outdoors in God’s beautiful backyard.

For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities–his eternal power and divine nature–have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse. Rom 1:20

Giving thanks always for all things to God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ; Eph 5:20

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A beautiful grey day

  1. Wonderful story and message. I am not suffering from any health problems, but even healthy folks wake up on the wrong side of the bed occasionally. I am not immune to that syndrome, but I am getting better about shedding it and going into the day with a good and positive attitude.
    Thanks for this reminder!

    Like

  2. jpdaily says:

    That’s true too, I like to think of these moments as Gods little pick me ups! 🙂 Thanks again Charles for your comments.

    Like

Leave a Reply

