When the storms come

The rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and slammed against that house; and yet it did not fall, for it had been founded on the rock. . . . The rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and slammed against the house; and it fell—and great was its fall. -Matthew 7:25, 27

“The greatest difference between “wise” and “foolish” resides in what promise from God they can claim. To the wise He says, in the words of the hymn. “Though all hell should endeavor to shake, I’ll never, no, never, no, never forsake!”
            J Macarthur

The storm came last night, its my friends dad, who thinks he has overdosed he is confused and under the influence. My friend is in a fluster.
We wait down at A&E and I have a great peace inside whilst in the midst of chaos.              “I dont think he has” I say to my friend as I give her a hug and try to reassure her. It took me back to one of the many storms I’d been through recently. My mums short and very brave battle with cancer. I too was in a panic and fluster as the siutation overwhelmed me.

Though these storms are unpleasant and unwanted it reveals in whom or what we lean on. The truth is nothing can see us through but Jesus, he is the Rock to cling to. This world changes like the tides and the sand but the Rock stands firm amongst it all.

A year on I can say thank-you Lord that through the storms you never left me. You are the rock on which I stand.

Rock of ages.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When the storms come

  1. Amen! Right on! You betcha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

