Everything I need

My favourite and the most popular of psalms, is Psalm 23; The Lord is my shepherd. It has those comforting and reassuring verses, that have seen me through my darkest days. To know that in spite of what is going on around me, the good shepherd is watching over me.

I yearn to live in the countryside and one of my favourite destinations for holidays is the beautiful Lake District. Full of winding roads, beautiful mountains and stunning lakes. My paradise on earth. We went last year and despite my illness I managed a short hike up the Loughrigg fells. Almost instantly your are transported to another world of quietness and tranquility surrounded by beautiful views. It immediately brings peace to your soul and rest from the busy world that you came from. Thoughts and worries fade away as the beauty and stillness bring you closer to the amazing creator. As the sheep are taken care of and protected from dangers so too are we that’s his promise to us. In these wonderful surroundings the beautiful words of this Psalm are brought to life and I can say to myself  “The Lord most high is my shepherd and because of that I lack nothing.”

PS 23

The Lord is my shepherd;
      I have everything I need.
 2 He lets me rest in fields of green grass
      and leads me to quiet pools of fresh water.
 3 He gives me new strength.
   He guides me in the right paths,
      as he has promised.
 4 Even if I go through the deepest darkness,
      I will not be afraid, Lord,
      for you are with me.
   Your shepherd’s rod and staff protect me.

Good News Translation


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

