No disapointments, only favour

I read a post by John Piper called disappointed by Jesus. He asked the question “Have we ever been disappointed by Jesus?”

Now I’ve been disappointed many times often because I didn’t get what I hoped for but  it’s what I hoped for not what Jesus promised me.

So pondering on this I read these two wonderful scriptures that he brings to light in view of this and they are Jn3:27 and Ps 84:11.

Jn23:27 “A person cannot receive even one thing unless it is given him from heaven”

Ps 84: 11 For the Lord God is a sun and shield; the Lord bestows favor and honor. No good thing does he withhold from those who walk uprightly.

Ps 23:6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

So if Jesus gives me all I need how can I feel disappointed?

Something happened to me when I read this today, it was like I saw my unbelief lift off. It was a revelation to me, my understanding had obscured this. If Jesus does not withhold from me any good thing, how can I be disappointed.

All those things that didn’t happen, didn’t happen for a reason. I may not understand but I don’t need to. God has already given me His best, His Son. How could I ever feel disappointed.

Forgive me Lord for my unbelief and striving. I dont have to strive, God has it all in hand if I only trust him. He knows best!

http://www.desiringgod.org/blog/posts/disappointed-by-jesus#

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No disapointments, only favour

  1. That’s what I’m talkin bout!! My heart dances at the revelation you’ve been given! I hear the angels singing! By golly, I might even dance!!

    Like

  2. benjamodo says:

    I like it. Sometimes we fail to see the wood for the trees!

    Like

Leave a Reply

