Heaven is my home

I went to visit my in-laws for father’s day, we had conversation and cake and family called round as the day turned to evening. Later as I watched my sister-in-law leave and her parents see her off, I had memories of my parents doing the same for me. How things have changed, my parents house stands empty, what was once a busy home with all of us turning up ( five of us) including spouses and families, it is now quiet almost forgotten. The hub of our family has been removed, and its hard to take it in sometimes.

It makes me realise how short and precious our lives are, what we have one day is not guaranteed for the next.

My parents have a new home in Heaven and I’m thankful for that but I still miss the comfort of the family home. I’m puzzled and perplexed as to why he took my mum so quickly. I remember about a year ago thinking on this and gazing up at the clouds in the sky. I felt the Lord say to me “This is your home the home you belong to now” “why do you seek the living among the dead?” just as the angel spoke to Mary at Jesus’s empty tomb. The family home maybe empty but they are no longer there, they are with the Lord in Heaven. Heaven is my home! it brought such comfort to me. Earth is the home I came from Heaven is the home that I belong to now.

When I get tangled up with things of this world I must lift my eyes heavenward and remember that this is my calling and this my home!

James 4:14 Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.

Isaiah 65:17 “See, I will create  new heavens and a new earth. 
The former things will not be remembered, nor will they come to mind. 


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

