Guard your heart challenge

I read on my blog feed today E B Pusey’s list on contentment and it got me wondering how many times do I feel discontent or complain in a day? What if I actually marked down each time I do it, I don’t think it would look too good. It is part of my old nature and a big part of the culture I live in.  Which is why I guess is it easier to moan than show gratitude. Not that I’m trying to make excuses. We all love a good moan, especially about the weather!! and yes it is raining. Scripture shows it is against Gods will to moan and complain and the Israelites wandering in the desert for forty years is a good example of this.

So I am reminded today to culitivate ( to improve and work on) a heart of contentment. I know as I write this it will be the first thing I’ll fall down on today, almost guaranteed. But this is not a case of positive thinking, it’s a case of genuine gratitude from the heart and contentment that comes from putting your trust in God especially in difficult times. ” There is no room for complaint and discontent in the heart that is at rest in God’s hands.” Roy Lessin

E. B. Pusey had five practical guidelines to help guard the heart against discontentment:

1. Never complain about anything, not even the weather.

2. Never picture yourself to be under a different set of circumstances than you are presently in.

3. Never compare your lot with that of another.

4. Never allow yourself to dwell on the wish that this or that had been, or were, otherwise than it was, or is.

5. Never dwell on tomorrow. Remember it is God’s, and not yours.

1 Timothy 6:6 NKJV  Now godliness with contentment is great gain. 

Prov 4:23 Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guard your heart challenge

  1. Right on! Right on! Right on! Very well said, and as I said, right on!
    I like your blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

