What does your happiness depend on?

My day started with this thought. What does my happiness depend on?

This thought came after reading about a pastors counselling experience with a couple who were seeking a divorce. The pastor realised that the womans happiness seemed to depend all on her husband. He went on to explain to her that she needed to be a happy individual completely fulfilled by God and not dependant for that of others.

Do I depend on things or others for my happiness? I’m certainly not materialistic. I don’t need to have the latest gadget or fashion accessory. But maybe I expect others or circumstances to make me happy. The ‘if only disease’. My husband says I’m a half glass empty person. So I know this is something I have to work on daily.

“We live in a world that is full of very discontented people”. John MacArthurs theory is this “The more you have the more discontent you become.” So I find myself returning to Paul in  Philippians where he talks about the secret of contentment.

Phil 4:11 11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

What a great place to be. Paul despite all his hardships and hurts had learnt to be content; whether in need or in plenty. He was satisfied. John MacArthur says “Paul had learned the providence of God –  the reason this man was content was because he knew that the times and the seasons and the opportunities of life were controlled by a sovereign God.”

So I pray “Help me Lord to be content, not to look to others, circumstances or things for my happiness but to remember this: that you have everything, every detail of my life in your hands. You are the one who supplies all my needs in Christ Jesus. Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What does your happiness depend on?

  1. Miawa says:

    Amen again. “Enough” is more than plenty and God always provides enough. Our needs are supplied. Often we think that of just food and water but it goes beyond that to our spiritual needs, our emotions, any need we have.

    Like

Leave a Reply

